Jump to Navigation

20th Anniversary of the Lives of Commitment at Auburn Seminary

Dates & Time: 
Thu, Apr 27, 2017 - 07:30 am

This is the 20th anniversary of the Lives of Committment at Auburn Seminary. For nearly 200 years, Auburn Seminary has identified and strengthened leaders of faith and moral courage to catalyze social change with boldness and resiliency. Auburn’s annual Lives of Commitment Benefit Breakfast honors the brave leaders that are working to bridge divides, build community, pursue justice, and inspire positive change in the world.

Past Honorees
2016 – Yara Allen, Melissa Harris-Perry, James Perry, Wanda Bryant Hope, Sarah Kureshi, MD, MPH, Lekha Singh, Mamie Kanfer Stewart
2015 – Dr. Georgette F. Bennett, Abigail E. Disney and Lucia K. McBath, Tamika D. Mallory, Teresa Wynn Roseborough, Nadia Roumani
2014 – Chelsea Clinton, Patricia Fili-Krushel, Sapreet Kaur, the Rev. Dr. Jacqueline J. Lewis, Linda G. Mills, Ph.D., and Rabbi Jennie Rosenn
2013 – Lauren Bush Lauren, Sr. Simone Campbell, SSS, Congresswoman Tammy Duckworth, Salem Abdelrhman, Miki Joelson, Alexander Posner
2012 – Cecile Richards, Cecilia Guthrie Boone, Rabbi Sharon Brous, Rev. Kanyere Eaton
2011 – Kayrita Anderson & Deborah Richardson, Bishop Minerva Carcano, Jensine Larsen, Dr. Gail T. Reimer, Chely Wright
2010 – Nurah Amat-ullah, Violet L. Dease, Emma Bronznick Goldberg, Jacki Zehner,
2009 – Abigail Disney, Wendy Paulson, Angela Buchdahl, Fatima Haidara
2008 – Barbara Friedman, Farhana Khera, Kathleen Kennedy Townsend,
2007 – Lena Alhusseini, Blu Greenberg, Alice Walker, Diana Chapman Walsh,
2006 – Zainab Salbi, Leah Hunt-Hendrix, Helen LaKelly Hunt, Nicki Newman Tanner
2005 – Ronit Avni, Dr. Johnetta Cole, Daisy Khan
2004 – Jenise Harrell, Ruth Messinger, Mary Robinson, Shalimar Yamin-Khan
2003 – Caroline Baron, Judy Collins, Rachel Lloyd
2002 – Wendy Kopp, Aasma Khan, Lilia Gerberg
2001 – Dr. Ruth Simmons, Margot Stern Strom, Kirsten Pratt
2000 – Dr. Jane Goodall, Henna White, Jean Griffith-Sandiford, Maria Rogers,
1999 – Faye Wattleton, Dr. Dorothy Height, Stephanie Schwartz Ferdman,
1998 – Dr. Margaret C. Heagarty, Alexa Rosas-Pereira, Marlo Thomas
1997 – Sr. Helen Prejean, The Rev. Annie Bovian, Zoe Tananbaum


New York City, NY




Scenes From Holy Week

This week, Christians around the world celebrate Holy Week and Easter, commemorating the final days of Jesus Christ—his...

Encouraging Youth To Engage and Study Theology

Getting high school students interested in theology sounds like a pretty tall order. In the age of “nones” and “...

Duke Expands Research on America's Religious Congregations

Duke receives $1.5 million grant to study America's evolving congregations. Research from Lilly Endowment grant...


Thu, Apr 27, 2017 - 07:30 am
This is the 20th anniversary of the Lives of Committment at Auburn Seminary.

Popular Tools

ATLA Serials for Alum